The Perfect Scone Topping

Posted on

All anyone can talk about is the Royal Wedding. And as much as I tried to rise above the ever-building insanity surrounding this event, I inevitably found myself drawn into the thick of it… Will! Kate!! What will they wear? What will they eat?  I should really be focusing on the more important world events, but for some reason, this has captured my (and apparently everyone else in the world’s) attention.

To really put things over the edge, my team at work decided to host a “Royal Wedding Breakfast”. Of course, my contribution must be food-related, so I’ve offered up a take on the oh-so-English Devonshire (Clotted) Cream.  Someone is bringing in scones from The Wholy Grain bakery in the South End, so this would seem to be a fitting accoutrement, no?

The recipe I’m using is really simple, and one I found on joyofbaking.com.  Since I unfortunately don’t have enough time to search out unpasteurized heavy cream and let it cook for 8-12 hours, I thought this would be the next best bet.  And who doesn’t like mascarpone cheese and heavy cream?

The following recipe and photo are both courtesy of joyofbaking.com. 

  • Four ounces mascarpone cheese
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 or 2 TBSP granulated white sugar
  • zest of one lemon

Place all the ingredients in a large bowl and beat until the mixture holds it shape and looks like softly whipped cream.  Use right away or cover and refrigerate until serving time.

Serve with scones, crumpets, or any other toasted mound of loveliness…

Happy eating!

About Summer

A lover of food wine and all things fun and fabulous!

5 responses »

  1. Love the recipe ideas! We would love to hear some recipe suggestions for our pop-up crêperie opening up in downtown Boston in just two weeks. Follow us at twitter.com/dorecreperie.

    Reply
  2. We absolutely love this recipe idea! We would love to hear some of your crêpe recipe ideas for our pop-up crêperie opening up in downtown Boston (1 Beacon Street) in just a couple of weeks! Also be sure to follow us at twitter.com/dorecreperie

    Reply
    • So sorry I didn’t reply sooner! I’ve been very bad at maintaining my blog this summer, but will definitely come in for a crepe at the creperie. I work downtown so it’s really convenient for me. Thanks so much for reading my blog!

      Reply
  3. Loved that you had a royal wedding breakfast. Scones are my favorite breakfast treat (next to donuts I think)! Can’t wait to try this recipe – yum!

    Reply
    • Hi Sharon! I’m so glad you liked the recipe. My team at work has asked me to bring it in many more times since April – I’ve created clotted cream monsters 🙂 Hope you’re having a happy summer!

      Reply

Leave a comment